Enjoy the little things in life

Small Wonder
 
23.06.2019

Prachovské skály – Jičín, Czech Republic (26 of 30)
 
Living in the Czech Republic has given me a chance to experience the culture, see marvels of the world, and meet some interesting people. Learning to photograph like I have never before brought me out of my comfort zone and hiking has shown me what it means to be alive and well. Photographing people outside of Prague has led to countless unforeseen conversations after the shutter is released. When I was hiking through the Prachov Rocks yesterday I found a child overjoyed by the sight of the camera pointed her way as her mother fed her. When we finished the hike I ended up conversing with the family after they helped me order lunch. These locals spoke incredible English and were delighted I made the photo so I gave them my email address so they could have the moment for themselves.
 
I found a place to stay for two nights in the small town of Stadt Wehlen near Bad Schandau in Germany. In contrast to the other places I had visited, I found no one here who spoke English besides the host of my accommodation. The worldwide prevalence of English is convenient, but there is something about two people communicating with each other in completely different tongues. After taking an eleven-mile hike through the Schrammsteine rocks located in Saxon Switzerland my friends and I came back to recover. After napping too long we set out on a hunt for dinner and finally came across a man who owned a small tavern gladly willing to grill some steaks and serve some beers to us. His hospitality was unlike anything I had ever experienced. Despite the expression of surprise on his wife’s face when she entered thinking they were finished for the day, she went straight to the kitchen to lend a hand after hearing her husband happily exclaim we were from America. Once we finished and thanked the man for the stellar cuisine he sat down to spend some time with us and collect payment. After hearing Fleetwood Mac blasted through the speakers it was apparent they were just as happy to have us as we were to have them. Through my travels, I have found the little moments in life are the ones that tend to stand out most amongst the rest.

Leave a comment